McSwain Theatre’s Grand Awards Show Oct. 17

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

by Chickasaw Nation Media Relations Office

ADA, Okla. – Search lights and red carpet will announce the arrival of Oklahoma’s top vocalists at the McSwain Theatre’s Grand Awards Show Saturday, Oct. 17. The curtain will rise at 7 p.m.

Artists will arrive to the McSwain by limousine to a red carpet entrance at 6 p.m., allowing fans, friends and family plenty of photo opportunities.

Jae L. Stilwell and the Crossover band will serve as hosts of the evening.

Each vocalist qualified for the Grand Awards Show by being selected by audience vote during preliminary competition.

Each of the “top five” in five categories; best gospel and group performers, male and female performers, and best 16-and-under performers, will entertain the crowd before the overall winner is crowned.

Talented vocalists selected as “16 and Under” category include: Macy Blackburn, Stratford;  Macy Edwards, Tom Bean, Texas;  Darci Farmer, Oklahoma City; Britney Rodgers, Broken Arrow; and Maddox Ross, Choctaw.

Contenders in the “Top 5 Group” include: “Keeping it Country,” Ada and Runaway Bay, Texas; Ashleigh and Suzanne McCoy, Mustang; “Red River,” Ada; Wiley Winters and Missy Rude, Paoli and Pauls Valley; Anne Young and Donna Marie, Richardson, Texas and Ada.

“Top 5 Gospel” acts scheduled to perform include: Mark Byers, Deborah Butcher, April Davis, Clancy Davis and Ken Hancock, all of Ada and Darlin’ Darla, Oklahoma City.

“Top 5 Male” winners Clancy Davis, Ada;  Wayne Gibbs, Konawa; Kolton Hall, Bonham, Texas; Ethan Stedman, Ardmore and Wylie Winters, Pauls Valley; are also scheduled to perform during the Grand Awards show.

“Top 5 Female” winners slated to compete include: Lela Dalby, Anadarko; April Davis, Teagan Tulley Vick, both of Ada;  Cathy Lake, Runaway Bay, Texas; and Anne Young, Richardson, Texas.

Overall winners will be crowned at the conclusion of each group’s performance.

“Entertainer of the Year” will also be awarded.

The McSwain Theatre Grand Awards Show pays homage to the original awards show series, which honored music industry legends and helped launch the career of a present-day superstar.

The inaugural 1993 McSwain Theatre Grand Award Show honored the “Queen Mother of Nashville” Mae Boren Axton for her influence on the music scene.

Encased in concrete on the sidewalk in front of the McSwain Theatre are two petite handprints and hand-written script stating “Mae Boren Axton.”

It was during the first McSwain Grand Awards Show in October 1993, when Axton was honored and her handprints were cast in concrete.

The awards show was a McSwain staple for almost a decade and honored the likes of Garth Brooks, the family of country music legend Reba McEntire, and several others.

The names of past Grand Awards Show honorees are commemorated with brick pavers in front the McSwain Theatre.

Tickets for the Grand Awards Show are now available.

For ticket or theatre information, contact the McSwain Theatre at 580-332-8108 or online at

Follow theatre updates on Facebook at or on Twitter at

The McSwain Theatre, owned and operated by the Chickasaw Nation, is located at 130 W. Main in Ada.